about / bio

Zach Fountain performs indie folk music and indie rock as rushmore beekeepers on guitar, harmonica, mandolin, octave mandolin, banjo, autoharp, and other instruments. He has been writing songs, recording, and performing since the late 1990s and has released nine albums of original indie folk and rock music.

Zach was classically trained on violin before deciding to focus on guitar, blending his passion for writing prose, poetry, and music. After starting a band called Minimum Wage (named after a They Might Be Giants song) with some high school friends, he started writing and recording solo material, releasing his first album, This Lonely Planet, as Neon Blue Sunset in 2001.

Since taking on the band name rushmore beekeepers in 2001 (borrowed from Wes Anderson’s film Rushmore), Zach Fountain has been consistently creating original music ranging from folk to indie rock, primarily written and recorded solo in his home studio, Dirt to Mud, with some songs recorded at Greene Means Go.

Rotating members and guest musicians include Amanda Hawkins, Carrie Hawkins, and Sam Greene. Kyla Bella and Dakota Frye (Carrie and Zach’s dogs) have made appearances on recordings, sometimes intentionally.

Zach grew up in Las Cruces and Mesilla, NM and has lived in Las Vegas, NV and Austin, TX. He now travels the USA full time in an RV with his wife and their dogs.

Bands Zach has been in (some of which may reunite someday):

  • Ambergris
  • Like Winter Weather
  • Scrap Iron Saints
  • Sweet Zombie Jesus
  • Vote for Pedro

Some of the musicians he’s performed with (as RBK and otherwise):

  • Drew Danburry
  • Kimya Dawson
  • Dubb Nubb
  • Larry and His Flask
  • O’Death
  • Oh My God
  • Old Man Markley
  • The Phenomenauts
  • Sin Ropas
  • World/Inferno Friendship Society